Alcohol and Tobacco 

Chapter 7 is all about alcohol and tobacco. Approximately half of all Americans consume alcohol regularly, while 21% abstain altogether. In the late 1970s until 2000, there was a decline in alcohol consumption. However between 2000-2009 there was a slight increase linked to the downturn of the U.S. Economy. In 2009, the alcohol consumption has decreased once again because of the stronger economy and growing more attention to personal health. Cigarette smoking has declined majorly of the last 50 years. However, tobacco use is still the single most preventable cause of death in the U.S. Smoking cigarettes kills more American than alcohol, car accidents, suicide, AIDS, homicide, and illegal drugs combined. 

Alcohol is the most poplar drug on college campuses. 40% of all college students engage in binge drinking. Binge drinking is consuming five or more drinks for men or four or more drinks for women in about a 2 hour spanned. Binge drinking can quickly lead to extreme intoxication, unconsciousness, alcohol poisoning, and even death. Some students binge drink because it’s to “have fun”, others do it to cope with stress, boredom, anxiety, or acedemic and social pressure. 

Ethyl alcohol or ethanol is the intoxicating substance found in beer, wine, liquor, and liqueurs. Ethyl is produced during fermentation. Fermentation is when the yeast organisms break down plant divers, yielding ethanol and carbon dioxide. Beer, wine, and ales end at this process. However, hard liquor is produced further through distillation. Distillation is in which the alcohol vapors are condensed and mixed with water to make the final product. Each alcoholic drink has a proof, the measure of its percentage of alcohol. A standard drink contains about 14 grams of pure alcohol. A 12-oz can of beer, 5-oz glass of wine, and 1.5 oz shot of vodka are considered a standard drink. Blood alcohol concentration(BAC) is the ratio of alcohol to total blood volume. BAC is the primary method used to measure physiological and behavioral effects of alcohol. If a person has a BAC of 0.08 or up they would be considered always impaired. Some short-term health effects slowed reaction time, slurred speech, high BAC’s can lead to coma and death, impaired judgement and motor coordination, dulled senses of taste and smell, flushing, sweating, heat loss, lowered blood pressure, nausea, increased urination, or decreased pulse and respiratory rate. Some long-term effects are memory impairment, damage/destroyed brain cells, lowered disease resistance, weakened heart muscle, increased risk of live cancer, fatty liver and cirrhosis, increased risk of osteoporosis, and/or increased risk of cancers of the mouth, esophagus, stomach, pancreas, and colon. 

Chapter 6 felt with addiction. Someone can be addicted to alcohol. Alcoholism or alcohol dependency are the results when personal and health problems related to alcohol use are serve and stopping alcohol use causes withdrawal symptoms. Biological, family, social and cultural factors can result if a person could become a alcoholic. Personally, I am at a higher risk of abusing alcohol. Both my mother and father sides of the family has struggled with alcohol. When I was going through my break up last fall, I relayed on alcohol too much. I drank to not feel the pain that I was going through. It wouldn’t be every night but when I went out with family or friends I would most likely get a “buzz”. Around spring of this year, I noticed what I was doing. After this I stop drinking for a little bit to focus on myself and to find another outlet of my pain. Now alcohol and I have a safe and healthy relationship. I don’t go out to get drunk like I did. 

The next topic in this chapter is tobacco. Tobacco use is widespread in the United States. The cost of tobacco for the nation is $289 to $333 billion per year. Tobacco can be smoking or smoking less form. Both forms of smoking contain nicotine. Nicotine is a highly addictive chemical stimulate that is the major psychoactive substance. Cigarettes (fillered or clove), cigars, pipes and hookahs, bids are all smoked types of tobacco. Chewing tobacco, dipping and snuff are tobacco that are either chewed. Some short-term effects of smoking are lightheadnesses, increases respiratory rate, suppresses appetite, increases blood sugar levels and production of adrenaline and pulse and blood pressure and induces fatigue. Some long-term health effects are addiction and nicotine cravings, stained fingers, excess wrinkling, increased risk of gum disease and cancers; ora cavity, throat, and larynx and susceptibility to colds, flu, pneumonia, and asthma, and increased risk of stoke and heart disease. I have never smoked cigarettes in my life. I had no desire too. However I had lots of friends that did. One of my close friends just quit smoking over the summer. She was noticing that she was getting sicken often and having crappy. She quit “cold turkey”. 

These two topic can relate to my health aspect of cleaning eating. To have a clean eating life style you need to stay away from and anything that will harm your body. As I said above, I don’t smoke. However, I do enjoy a glass a wine or beer every once and a while. I try to be aware on how many I consume. 

This week, like I said from my last blog, I have been sick. Still soup, oj, water, tea,crackers and toast. Today I tried a smoothie, which settled well. So hoping tomorrow to add more foods. I bundled up and took a 20 minute walk around the block to get some fresh air. Hoping that will help! 

This picture is from today while snuggling on the couch with my pup Jacoby! Gotta love the Randolph nose! 

Leave a Reply

